Apple pie toastie wraps and bread crumble

I had heaps of apples all freshly washed and drying on my bench, I needed to fill the baking tins and also wanted to do a double batch of dessert to save doing one tomorrow and see how my genesis graph changed without using the oven for a night tomorrow.

20141015_185412

Bread apple crumble – it worked!!

20141015_185818 20141015_185935

Apple pie wraps.

My sister post a link to an apple pie wrap on facebook so the idea was a tweak here and there of that.

10 slices of bread with crusts off and rolled thin using a rolling pin

blanch some apples (like 10 and green ones, we call them granny smiths in NZ)

20141015_172752

The red thingy peels, cores and slices the apples, then I get a kitchen knife and quarter the sphere so that the apples are little pieces. God bless the person who invented this kitchen gadget.  They’re really cheap to buy too.

Especially when you pinch dad’s one.

Hmmm. Borrow? *cough cough*

20141015_172540

Just a quick blanch like no longer than 2 mins in the boiling water.  Stops it going brown but doesn’t cook too much otherwise the puddings will be apple mush once out of the oven.

20141015_175638

I got sugar all over myself, the bench and the floor lol

I’m now thinking that my friend Selena’s idea to make these in the toastie machine could be more fun 🙂

Oh and if you want your apples coated in syrup just make some in a frypan 1/2c sugar 1/2 c water and simmer until thickens then toss the apples in before wrapping them in the bread.  I didn’t bother.

MY HOUSE NOW SMELLS LIKE A MC’D APPLE PIE

Oh….. my, Oh…. my, Oh… my my house smells like apple pie

20141015_175936

next onto the apple crumble… hey lets use breadcrumbs?? like lasange with sugar/spice!

this used up around half the crusts from the apple wraps bread, the other half I blitz’d and put into the freezer in a snaplock baggie.

20141015_180709

20141015_180457

into the freezer this baggie of bread crumbs goes…. waste not want not and all that.

Method to the madness:

put apples in a pot of boiling water to stop them going brown (they’ll finish cooking in the oven)

mix 1/2 tsp cinnimon, 1/2 tsp mixed spice and 1/2 cup of raw sugar together

melt 40grams of butter in the microwave and use a pastry brush to brush this onto one side of each piece of rolled bread, you will get sugar, butter and mess everywhere just go with it lol I used my bare hands to hold the bread, paint it in butter, turn it over fill it with blanched chunks of apple, sprinkle some sugar/spice mix in there, roll it up, sprinkle more sugar/spice mix over it and place onto foil in a roasting dish.

Bake 20 mins at 180’c

Next….

I put the remainder of the blanched apples in a buttered casserole dish, and blitz’d the crusts of 5 pieces of that bread in my chop’n’whiz.  layer sugar/spice then breadcrumbs in two or three layers on top of the apples, then shave off paper thin pieces of butter and put a piece 2cm apart

Bake 15 mins in the oven.

Phew!

All done 🙂

Time for a cuppa then onto some prep for my day tomorrow.

Thanks for your comment

