Recipe: Breadmaker Fruitcake

I was going to do a fruit loaf but honestly my breadmaker isnt very flash, and I just want to sit on my ass today – not wait for the exact right moment I need to toss the fruit in so that my loaf can still have enough rise time…. plus I actually feel like some fruitcake today (pun intended)

Ingredients:This is doubled and put on a regular 1.5kg bread loaf setting in my machine.

** If you don’t have a bread maker – halve the recipe and use a loaf tin and cook for 1hr at a preheated 180’c **

2 cups milk

2 eggs

100g butter softened

4 cups flour

4 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup brown sugar

2 cups of tasti brand fruit mix

Method:

Rub the butter into the sifted flour, baking powder, salt, sugar.

Whisk the eggs and milk together and put into the greased bread maker pan (my bread maker has two blades for mixing so don’t hold me hostage if you have a single blade one and it has a hissy)

Add the dry ingredients and wait until all dry is now mixed in with the wet then add the fruit mix – ha! you just skipped the hard work of hand mixing, your welcome!

Because the recipe has rising ingredients in it – there’s no need to wait for adding fruit – trust me…. it will be fine.

Nb: if your fruit mix is quite a dry brand sit it in 2cups of black coffee or hot water overnight to rehydrate it or it will dry out your loaf.

Hint: what else can I do in my bread maker? pretty much anything that cooks for around an hour at 180’c

8 thoughts on “Recipe: Breadmaker Fruitcake

  1. This is the right web site for everyone who would like
    to understand this topic. You realize so much its almost tough
    to argue with you (not that I personally would want to…HaHa).

    You definitely put a brand new spin on a topic that’s been written about for ages. Great stuff, just wonderful!

  2. are the weights following “Ingredients:This is doubled and put on a regular 1.5kg bread loaf setting in my machine.” already doubled or do they need doubling? I dont understand this sentence

    • This recipe is written as a double sized batch, you can make it – as is and use the 1.5kg loaf setting, or halve this recipe and use your 700g or closest to it, loaf setting.

  3. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I have been looking for a simple and quick way to make this kind of bread in my bread machine and have found it. It came out great and is super tasty. I’m sure it will become a breakfast staple in our family. Thanks again.

Thanks for your comment

