Recipe: Rice Pudding

Ok so Omelettes are NOT my forte… actually cooking’s not my forte’ that’s the hubbys forte… baking and cupcakes and desserts… that’s got me all over it!

So what happened?

2013-05-24 17.28.51              2013-05-24 17.27.12

Well I was aiming for the MAX foods to see just how many I could squeeze into a meal… I did really well, but tossing in some finely diced silver beet to the egg/water/soy omelette meant it was textured… and I couldn’t get it to smoothly leave the pan! darn! so It got hidden under the finely sliced vegetables that were meant to be rolled up inside it… it’s ok… the husband scored me a 6/10 for trying, I gave myself a 4/10 and the kids gave me 28/10… bless their little hearts… and since they scored me so high they have to eat it all! ha!

So I roasted some bok choy and yellow capsicum w. broccoli/olives/tomato/cheese and drizzled with some olive oil served on some savoury noodles.
The nori rolls were without the nori since they were stacked as pieces of omelette, freshly sliced vegetables and some diced purple cabbage.  The main difference with this meal is – everything is miniature! all portions are so little, that you can only but savour and love their taste, colors and textures.

Dinner didn’t present visually how I had planned, but it was tasty, satisfying, and packed full of nutrients.

On a quick count I got: TWELVE different foods into our dinner meal – great result!

Then add ice-cream and rice custard pudding!! and my total comes to: SIXTEEN 🙂

2013-05-24 17.49.26

Rice Pudding Recipe:

(1) Microwave:
1 cup rice, 400ml water on high for 10 minutes.

(2) Prepare the oven:
Fill a roasting dish half way with water and put in the oven at 150’C fanbake
Get six ramekin dishes either buttered or oil sprayed and place evenly in the water to warm up

(3) Beat with a fork (for around 2 mins):
2 Eggs, 1.5 cups of milk, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 tsp vanilla essence

(4) Combine cooked rice with egg/milk/sugar/essence and ladel into your ramekin dishes

(5) Sprinkle with cinnamon and nutmeg and bake for 50 mins.

Thanks for your comment

